Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join IIAAustin
Share |
IIAAustin Awards College Scholarship


Pictured above (L to R):  Estella Hernandez, Jared Hernandez, our 2019 Scholarship Recipient, and Kelly Surles, IIAAustin President.

The Independent Insurance Agents of Austin scholarship will be awarded based on the following criteria:

  • Academic Achievement
  • Financial Need
  • Extracurricular Activity
  • Community Involvement
  • The students’ statements regarding expected academic major.

The applicant must meet the following requirements:

  • Have a parent that works for a member agency for the Independent Insurance Agents of Austin or be an intern working for a member agency for the Independent Insurance Agents of Austin.  A letter of recommendation from the employer will also be required for interns that are applying.  Please be sure to attach the letter to your application when you apply if you applying as an intern.
  • Prefer an insurance or finance major but other majors will be considered
  • Must be attending a 4 year college
  • Must be attending a public, state or private college or university for 2020-2021-school year (junior colleges not acceptable).
  • Must be a graduating high school senior or a current college student for the 2019-2020 school year that resides in Travis County or a contiguous county.

 Scholarship Offered:

  • (1) $5,000 general scholarship

Application Process and Deadlines:


  • To apply, please fill out the application form below completely. 
  • The application must be received March 15, 2020.  No applications can be accepted after that date. 
  • Scholarships recipients will be notified by March 20, 2020.
  • Scholarships will be awarded prior to the next school year (preferably at a Independent Insurance Agents of Austin event).  The scholarship winner is expected to be in attendance.
  • IIAAustin reserves the right to change information as needed.


2020 Scholarship Application (MS Word Format)


Past Scholarship Recipients:

2019:  Jared Hernandez
2018:  Latham Robinson
2017:  Ariana Rodriguez
2016:   Sarah Hosman
2015:  Meagan Schneider
2014:  Garrett Lee



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal